top of page

The _ put _ from museum _ J udeo - A lsacien de B ouxwiller

The Association of Friends of the Judeo-Alsacien Museum of Bouxwiller was formed in 1983 at the instigation of Gilbert Weil, to prevent the old synagogue of the village from being destroyed and transformed into a supermarket parking lot.

 

The main objective of this association, currently made up of about a hundred members, is to promote and enhance the heritage and culture of the Jews of Alsace.  

 

After several years of stubbornness, the museum finally opened its doors on June 28, 1998 and very quickly became a great success.

 

The AMJAB can also congratulate itself for carrying out actions for the knowledge and the "revival" of heritage. Its first action thus dates back to 2001, when the AMJAB proposed to involve - at its expense - a specialist, to restore one of the oldest inscriptions   Hébraïques d'Alsace present on the arch of a Bouxwiller cellar entrance.

 

Moreover, on his initiative and under the direction of Professor Fr. Luckel, student architects proceeded to survey some forty rural synagogues.

A first "summer camp", aided by ICOMOS (UNESCO), enabled remarkable work by students on the Ettendorf necropolis and a second helped unravel the mystery of the Hebrew graffiti engraved on the ramparts of Neuwiller-lès - Saverne.

 

The Association saved a synagogue-school-ritual bath complex in Hochfelden which is now taken care of by a local association.

 

By winning a European competition organized by the European Economic Community (namely: 100 projects selected out of more than 2000 submitted), the association has made it possible to avoid the ruin of the only "hidden" synagogue that remained in Pfaffenhoffen. The building was rehabilitated and opened to the public in 2000.

 

The AMJAB also provides voluntary support to mayors wishing to find a reuse for the synagogue in their village.

In all situations, the association proposes a program attached to the place and renewing the Jewish character of the building, by establishing a preliminary project, carrying out estimates, seeking financing, etc. It has already been so for those of Reichshoffen, Schirmeck...

 

But for the AMJAB, the built heritage can only be understood when placed in the culture that generated it. Thus safeguarding mainly involves raising public awareness of this culture, hence research, exhibitions, articles in the press, conferences in France and abroad, translations, publications.

The AMJAB is honored to have won the "Living Heritage Prize" from the Fondation de France and to be supported by the Fondation du Judaisme Français.

bottom of page

Les Amis du Musée Judéo-Alsacien de Bouxwiller

L’association des Amis du Musée Judéo-Alsacien de Bouxwiller s’est constituée en 1983 sous l’impulsion de Gilbert Weil, pour empêcher l’ancienne synagogue du village d’être détruite et transformée en parking de supermarché.

 

Le principal objectif de cette association, constituée à ce jour, d’une centaine de membres environ, est de promouvoir et valoriser le patrimoine et la culture des juifs d’Alsace.  

 

Après plusieurs années d’obstination le musée ouvre enfin ses portes le 28 juin 1998 et va très vite connaitre un grand succès.

 

L’AMJAB peut également se féliciter de mener des actions pour la connaissance et la "remise en vie" du patrimoine. Sa première action remonte ainsi à 2001, quand l'AMJAB a proposé de faire intervenir - à ses frais - un spécialiste, pour restaurer l'une des plus anciennes inscriptions hébraïques d'Alsace présente sur l'arc d'une entrée de cave de Bouxwiller.

 

De plus, à son initiative et sous la direction du professeur Fr. Luckel, des élèves architectes ont procédé au relevé d'une quarantaine de synagogues rurales.

Un premier "chantier d'été", aidé par ICOMOS (UNESCO), a permis un remarquable travail d'étudiants sur la nécropole d'Ettendorf et un second a aidé à percer le mystère des graffiti hébraïques gravés sur les remparts de Neuwiller-lès­-Saverne.

 

L'Association a sauvé un ensemble synagogue-école-bain rituel à Hochfelden aujourd'hui pris en charge par une association locale.

 

En gagnant un concours européen organisé par la Communauté Economique Européenne (à savoir : 100 projets retenus sur plus de 2000 déposé), l'association a permis d'éviter la ruine de la seule synagogue "cachée" qui subsistait à Pfaffenhoffen. Le bâtiment a été réhabilité et a pu être ouvert au public en 2000.

 

L'AMJAB apporte également son soutien bénévole aux maires soucieux de trouver une réutilisation pour la synagogue de leur village.

Dans toutes les situations, l'association propose un programme rattaché au lieu et reconduisant le caractère juif de l'édifice, en établissant un avant-projet, procédant aux estimations, recherchant un financement, etc. Il en a déjà été ainsi pour celles de Reichshoffen, de Schirmeck…

 

Mais pour l'AMJAB, le patrimoine bâti ne se comprend que replacé dans la culture qui l'a généré. Ainsi la sauvegarde passe surtout par la sensibilisation du public à cette culture, d'où des recherches, des expositions, des articles dans la presse, des conférences en France et à l'étranger, des traductions, des publications.

L'AMJAB s'honore d'avoir été lauréat du "Prix Patrimoine Vivant" de la Fondation de France et d'être soutenu par la Fondation du Judaïsme Français.